International Journal of Research in Ayurveda and Pharmacy

ISSN Online:2229-3566

ISSN Print: 2277-4343


Article Category: Review articles

DOI: 10.7897/2277-4343.1205156

Pages: 104-109

Author: Arya D S *, Pradeep Kumar K

Abstract: Shalakya Tantra is one of the eight branches of Ayurveda specifically for the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of all the diseases occurring above the neck such as eyes, ear, nose, mouth and head. The branches of Shalakya Tantra includes Nethra Chikitsa (Ophthalmology), Karna Chikitsa (otology), Nasa Chikitsa (Rhinology), Mukharoga Chikita (Oral hygiene, Dentistry and Laryngology), and Shiroroga Chikitsa (diseases of the head). Among them, Ophthalmology comprises a major part of Shalakya Tantra. The eye is a very important and sensitive part of the body and responsible for visibility therefore the disease related to the eye must be handled carefully. According to Acharya Vagbhata, 18 diseases are designated as Pillakhya Rogas or Pilla Rogas which persist for a long time. The term Pilla means lusterless, dull, clouded, or dirty. Here it is used as a technical term to denote a group of 18 diseases of the eye. Also, many simple and effective treatments are mentioned in Ashtanga Hrudaya by Acharya Vagbhata. In this paper, an effort is taken to compile the references regarding Pillarogas and its management.

Keyword: Pillarogas, Lakshanas, Chikitsa